Executive Office of the Deputy President of Republic of Kenya

Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua on Saturday hosted former Jubilee Party MPs from Central Kenya who expressed their full support for Kenya Kwanza administration.

The DP held consultations at length with the lawmakers who lost in the last elections at his official residence in Karen, Nairobi. 

Mr Gachagua said he was grateful to host the ex-lawmakers he served with in the last Parliament adding he was ready to work with anyone to ensure the success of President William Ruto’s government. 

The former legislators, who have been strong critics of the Ruto administration and supported Azimio coalition presidential candidate Raila Odinga in the last polls, told the DP they had accepted that the President won fairly and are ready to throw their weight behind the ruling administration. 

“Despite being in Jubilee, they have accepted that H.E Dr William Ruto was duly elected President; being Democrats they accepted the will of the people and congratulated him,” said the DP who was Mathira MP in the last Parliament. 

The Saturday meeting was an extension of the DP’s quest to ensure the leaders were not left behind in the development of the region and the country.

Mr Gachagua said he was only interested in embracing everyone in spite of past political differences as they implemented the transformative Kenya Kwanza Plan.

“We were best of friends but we parted ways when bad politics creeped in after the infamous Handshake on March 9, 2018. We have taken time to catch up and review the politics that divided us,” the DP said.

The leaders led by Jubilee Secretary General Kanini Kega distanced themselves from the violent demonstrations by Azimio Coalition and attempts to revive Mungiki by some leaders in the region.   

“They have distanced themselves from Azimio La Umoja One demonstrations and attempts to revive criminal gangs to cause violence and mayhem in society,” he said.

The leaders promised to respect the voters’ will in the last election and support elected leaders to serve the people.