Counties to get Sh368bn share of revenue

Counties to get Sh368bn share of revenue

County governments will receive Sh368 billion this financial year up from Sh326 billion the previous year.

This amount includes Sh314billion as equitable share of revenue and Sh54 billion as conditional grants, Deputy President William Ruto has said.

“For the first time in the last five years, I must say this is the only time we have agreed on revenue sharing without any push and pull. We will now present one figure to the National Assembly,” said Mr Ruto during the Intergovernmental Budget and Economic Council (IBEC) meeting in Nairobi Tuesday.

Mr Ruto said the increase in allocation was a culmination of talks between the National Treasury and the Commission on Revenue Allocation (CRA).

Treasury Cabinet Secretary Henry Rotich assured the meeting of timely disbursement of funds to counties.

“Counties will use the guidelines shared by the National Treasury to facilitate intervention for counties that might require additional support,” he said.

The meeting was attended by Cabinet Secretaries Henry Rotich (Treasury), Eugene Wamalwa (Devolution), Sicily Kariuki (Health), Mwangi Kiunjuri (Agriculture) and Council of Governors chairman Josephat Nanok.

Governors Salim Mvurya (Kwale), Charity Ngilu (Kitui), Anne Waiguru (Kirinyaga), Wycliffe Oparanya (Kakamega), Wycliffe Otichilo (Vihiga), Joseph Lenku (Kajiado), Joyce Laboso (Bomet), Mwangi wa Iria (Muranga), John Lonyangapuo (West Pokot), Francis Kimemia (Nyandarua), Stephen Sang (Nandi), Fahim Twaha (Lamu), Mahamud Ali (Marsabit), Muthomi Njuki (Tharaka Nithi) and deputy governor Joash Maangi (Kisii) were present.