The Legislative Branch

The Legislative Branch

Chapter eight of the Constitution, Article 93 establishes the Parliament of Kenya, which consists of the National Assembly and the Senate.

The National Assembly is composed of 349 Members: 290 elected, 47 women representatives from counties and 12 nominated.

The Senate is made up of 67 members: 47 elected Members from each county, 16 nominated women and four individuals to represent the youth and persons with disabilities.

The role of Parliament includes:

  • Exercises legislative authority of the Republic from the people.
  • It manifests the diversity of the nation, represents the will of the people, and exercises their sovereignty.
  • May consider and pass amendments to the Constitution, and alter county boundaries as provided for in the Constitution.
  • Protect the Constitution and promote the democratic governance of the Republic.

The National Assembly:

  • Represents the people of the constituencies and special interests.
  • Deliberates on and resolves issues of concern to the people.
  • Enacts legislation in accordance with the Constitution.
  • Approves declarations of war and extensions of states of emergency.

It also—

Determines the allocation of national revenue between the levels of government, as provided for in the Constitution;

  • Appropriates funds for expenditure by the national government and other national State organs; and
  • Exercises oversight over national revenue and its expenditure.
  • Reviews the conduct in office of the President, the Deputy President and other State officers and initiates the process of removing them from office; and
  • Exercises oversight of State organs.

The Senate:

  • Represents the counties, and serves to protect the interests of the counties and their governments.
  • Participates in the law-making function of Parliament by considering, debating and approving Bills concerning counties, as provided in the Constitution.
  • Determines the allocation of national revenue among counties, as provided in Article 217, and exercises oversight over national revenue allocated to the county governments.
  • Participates in the oversight of State officers by considering and determining any resolution to remove the President or Deputy President from office in accordance with the Constitution.