The primary role of the Presidency is the organisation and coordination of Government business. The effectiveness and efficiency of this office, given its technical leadership role and mandate in policy formulation, review and decision-making, impacts decisively on the performance of all other public sector entities.  In view of that fact therefore, the performance of the Presidency being central to all Government functions, ultimately transcends all facets of public sector management. The Presidency is central in ensuring the president achieve his objectives.

This distinction has necessitated the need for a radical overhaul of the previous structure of executive governance in order to establish the terms of engagement of the Presidency within the constitutional order. At the same time, the implementation of a devolved structure of Government operating within the ambit of an Executive Presidency similarly demands the establishment of key competences to support the President, so as to secure the cohesiveness of national policies and programmes as well as the operations of a cohesive government.

In this regard, the Presidency has been restructured as follows – 

  1. The Office of the President (OP)
  2. The Office of the Deputy President (ODP)

The staff structure enables the OP and the ODP to limit the President to the core functions of Strategic Policy Direction, coordination, monitoring and oversight.

The Office of the President (OP) is the Presidents Front office, and is headed by the Chief of Staff and consists of Advisors whose role is to advise the President in the performance of his mandate. The OP is organised in accordance with the wishes of the incumbent President and is directed by staff chosen by the President. The tenure and durability of an Office advisory position is dependent upon its usefulness to the President.

The Advisors advice the President in such matters as he may direct, and at the specific request. They are heads of their respective offices in the OP, and are supported by a core team of staffers, including Directors and Technical Officers.

Offices in the Executive Office of the Presidency (EOP) 

  1. Chief of Staff – Office of the President
  2. Chief Of Staff – Office of the Deputy President
  3. Advisors